“Here Bhai, talk to Khushi ji.”

The dire need for a deep breath overcomes him as he hears Akash say those words.

How?

How can he possibly speak to the woman he has mercilessly tortured for months on end, the same woman whose crystal tears pierce his heart like shards of icicles? How can he possibly feign a facade of hatred anymore, when all he yearns is the warmth of her to envelop him, to melt his long kept shield of false loathing?

She gently takes the cordless telephone from her brother in law’s hand, trying to mask the raging emotions within her. She had been miserable for the past few days; not a moment went by without her mind obsessing over his well being. After long days and even longer nights of being clueless, he is right here, on the other line, waiting to speak to her.

Her husband.

She places the phone on her ear, her fingers twitching slightly as she walks away from the bed where everyone else is immersed in joyful conversation.

He feels her presence instantaneously, swallowing to relieve his dry throat.

Neither say a word for the next few moments, waiting, reveling in the faint sound of each other’s breaths reaching their ears through the line.

He cannot wait anymore.

“Khushi,”

Her heart does a somersault. Without a warning her eyes come to life with an abundance of fresh tears, springing forth to her lashes in unconfined happiness. She does not need anything else, she realizes, other than her name uttered from his lips. The pain of separation, the anguish of not knowing whether he is alright, the strongly bound attachment she feels, all comes crashing down at the sound of his voice.

She clutches her wrist and purses her lips in a weak attempt to keep him from hearing her cries.

He knows this, despite her effort to hide it. He knows this, because he knows her.

“Kh- Khushi I’m fine, I’m alright, okay?” He feels himself falter and tries to stay strong, for her.

Her sobs grow to be uncontrolled now, as she lets the tears flow freely.

Her cries kill him a thousand times over as he feels his own eyes moisten. He needs to comfort her. He needs to let her know that everything will be alright. Even if he can’t promise so.

“Please don’t cry,” His tone shifts to one so tender, as if soothing a child. A request, a plea.

She lets her eyelids rest, shutting them as she holds the phone close.

He looks down, helpless. “Khushi that’s it. Stop,” He blinks his tears away as he says this. She doesn’t listen.

“Khushi stop crying,” For a second he is back to being the scolding, cold man she knows, but soon that fades when she hears the hesitance in his breaths.

What does he want to say?

How can he tell her? How can he encompass all that she is, has been, and always will be to him? How can he reach her through this warp of oblivion, past the misunderstanding, the lies, the countless, sleepless nights? How can he retrace the steps he took away from her, and draw them towards her?

“Khushi I-” He opens his mouth only to close it again, not knowing how to put his thoughts into words.

Her lips part in curiosity and anticipation. Say it Arnav ji.

“Khushi I- you-” He drifts away again and she bites her lip when another stream of tears rolls down her cheeks. Clutching her wrist again, she holds her breath.

He suddenly feels the tinge of the ropes gnawing through his skin. Reality hits him hard, a reality that she is not aware of. He realizes that he may never be able to see her again, a possibility that gives him the courage to do what he does next. The courage to face his soul, the courage to overcome the strangles of the past, to recognize where he belongs.

To finally be able to speak the truth. The greatest truth of his life.

Because she needs to know.

Because he doesn’t know if he’ll be alive to say it again.

“Khushi, I love you.”

And just like that, their stars finally align in celebration.


A/N: I hope everyone’s Diwali went well for those who celebrate! This was something that was in my drafts for a long time until now. Hope you liked it, dear reader ❤

Rain

28 thoughts on “OS: Our Stars

  1. This was one of my favorite episodes. Best performance by both the leads . Thank you for bringing back the memories:-))

  2. Very painful yet soothing moment of ArShi.. Separation, pain, hurt, love, care, yearning every emotions is so beautifully translated in this phone convo between ArShi.. Arnav’s confession gave Khushi the signal that not everything is fine with him.. Message sent across and received very clearly.. Awesome ❤

  3. Thanks for penning down their emotions… ppl were often confused as to what drove Arnav to confess and that too over phone… thats it.. he thought he was gonna die and wanted to share his actual feelings with khushi.

  4. I had commented but it did not get published .may be I forgot to press send.
    It took separation and the fear that he may not see Khushi again made Arnav to confess and of course for Khushi to think that something must be wrong for Arnav to tell her that he loved her.
    Thank you Rain for the lovely update.

  5. Happy belated Diwali…
    A shot posted on such occasion would’ve been expected to be about Diwali.. 😛
    This one however is faaar from it.
    But it was a special moment in the show, and in their journey to each other… And you wrote it beautifully.
    Once again, it was nice reliving those moments and seeing them through your eyes. ❤

    1. Happy Belated Diwali Zayneb!
      Haha, I did not have time to pen a Diwali shot, but I still wanted to post something. So, I published this, which was already in my drafts ☺️
      Thank you so much, happy it made you relive those magical moments ❤️

      1. I decided that Rain’s Writings would be a more general/appropriate title for the blog, while “Tum Theek Ho” might not go with every story that I write. Plus, I wanted to consider readers who may be non-Hindi speakers as well. 😊

      2. I know, and I understand it makes more sense this way… But feelings are irrational, you know… what can I do? 🤷🏻‍♀️

        “Tum Theek Ho” is such an iconic and intrinsic part of Arnav, Arshi, and the show in general. And since I am a non-Hindi speaker, and I watched the show in Arabic dubbing the first time.. when I came across some videos online of the OG version, Tum Theek Ho coupled with his husky panty-melting tone was one of the first things that made me curious and then totally in love with the Hindi version of Arnav.
        It always warms my heart whenever I come across it.

        And I remember it was the very first thing that caught my attention and had me bookmark and then check out your blog since I wasn’t familiar with your writing back then…

        PS: Nothing against Rain’s Writings. You know I Love Rain ❤ I told you so in my very first comment. This is just me being a bit nostalgic, and thinking how much I am gonna miss receiving email notifications from Tum Theek Ho. That’s all. 😊

      3. I totally understand 🙂 It’s an iconic dialogue from the show that will forever elicit goosebumps whenever we hear it. It warms my heart too – I’m right there with you. Nostalgia is a powerful feeling. I’m so glad it piqued your interest and brought you here. Thank you for being here then, and for being here now. ❤

        My love to you,
        Rain

      4. My pleasure. ❤
        Tum Theek Ho may have brought me here, but it’s only your writing that has kept me coming back. So, you keep up the good work, I’ll keep on being here. 😊

        Love, Zayneb.

  6. I was just kidding, you know 😛 doesn’t matter the subject, a shot is a shot, the sentiment of posting something for the occasion is what counts. ❤
    And in the spirit of the festival of light, this piece had finally had a chance to see the light of day. 😁

  7. Lovely OS ..
    Finally he said what he always felt..
    Rain..
    I found this link on Ficverse ..
    I m a slow reader ..sorry in advance .. But I’ll read definitely all the fiction here..

Leave a comment